{DIY} Homemade Easter Chocolates

DSC_0425B

Hopefully the Easter long weekend has been wonderful for you all. It has come and almost gone in a flash for us, in between fitting in all the family catch ups and taking a much needed rest.

This year I decided to do things a little differently when it came to Easter eggs. I am a mad chocoholic so there of course needs to be Easter eggs, but with a family as bit as mine, it can become a pretty expensive task, and that’s not what Easter should be about. So this year, I decided to make my own Easter chocolates.

It was simple really. I purchased a couple of silicon moulds and some good quality cooking/melting chocolate and I was set. To make it even easier, I melted my chocolate in the microwave. As I did small batches at a time, it was simply a matter of a minute in the microwave and stir it up. Sometimes it needed another 15-20 seconds but usually it was enough. Then scooping the chocolate into the moulds and putting them into the fridge to set.

I would do a batch every time I came into the kitchen for whatever reason since they took almost no time to set and it made it really easy that way. And to mix it up, I added a few extra things such as crushed nuts, 100s & 1000s or food colouring to make them tasty/extra pretty.

DSC_0426 - Copy (2)

Then simple bundled them up in cellophane bags and they were ready for their recipients.

This year I am planning to do a whole lot more in the way of handmade gifts, since handmade comes from the heart… so these Easter chocolates were perfect! Not to mention very yummy 😉

Leave a Reply

