Living Life Through a Lens

DeathtoStock_Wired10

It’s no secret I love taking photographs… of anything and everything. I always have a camera on hand, whether it be my big clunky DSLR, a smaller point and shoot or simply my iPhone, always ready to capture those quickly passing memories.

I love having the forever keepsake of a photograph to record all those precious moments. Even more so now, as a mother, I can’t help wanting to capture every new habit, cheeky grin or that peaceful sleeping face. I want to be able to look back on all the moments, no matter how big or small, however it’s not entirely a good thing.

I am guilty of living my life through the lens of my camera so often, and not always living in the moment.

A constant fear of missing a milestone or missed opportunity to share a rare momentย overcomes me at times. My need to share these memorable moments can beย a little bit of an addiction also, wanting to share my joy with loved ones and friends.

Don’t get me wrong, I love to get down on the floor and play blocks with my daughter or cuddle my cats, and I am completely devoted to my family. However not without pausing for a moment to snap a picture in between those wonderful moments.

I am setting myself a goal to stop living every moment through a camera lens and actually be in the moment completely. Not every moment needs to be captured and shared. Some of them deserve to be remembered in the heart, because life is too short to miss seeing the world through my own eyes!

14 thoughts on “Living Life Through a Lens

  1. I couldn’t agree more with you! I find that when I do not have my phone near me and I simply live in the moment with my children it is so much more magical!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s exactly it. Recording the memories are all very nice for later but the kids will remember them better when you were playing alongside them rather than pointing a camera at them.

      Like

  2. I have relaxed a lot about needing to capture the moments, and actually experience them instead. Nothing wrong with taking pictures, but the obsessive part is no fun. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Don’t know if you’ve heard this song by John Mayer, but it sums up how I feel about it wonderfully: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GP5gWbyuXrs (and this was before people had iphones!)

    Like

    • Ah nice, a theme song and all to describe it! Will go check it out a I’m not too familiar with John Mayer’s songs. When my daughter was born I did a photo a day challenge. I’m not saying I won’t do it with my next child but no longer having that personal pressure means I’m ok if I go a whole day without a photo ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • Oh, I definitely don’t think taking a picture, or even five, a day is wrong. ๐Ÿ™‚ For me, I realized it was a problem when the moments were constantly being interrupted by needing to capture them. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Moderation, for me, is key now. ๐Ÿ˜€

        Like

  3. 1. I have the opposite problem. I’ve had an iPhone for only about a month, and I often forget all about taking pictures, even the awesome ones.

    2. I know you want to find the balance, but trust me on this – that you have so many, in 10 years, will be an incredible asset. Our memories are no match for pictures.

    3. I just remembered when I was a teenager, I loved photography. But I’d tell myself, “one picture an hour.” I think it was more to make myself look for them, but that mantra could work the other way, too, to make sure you’re enjoying the other 59:45 of every hour.

    Like

Leave a Reply

