When I Grow Up

In july I am headed back to university to embark on a new profession. I have had mixed reactions to this news, with good reason. Mostly because I already have a profession. One that I have had successes in and have enjoyed for the most part of 7 years.

Despite this, I decided it was time for a change, thus enrolling in a Graduate Diploma in Teaching (Primary). Suddenly my passion for my current career was just not there like it had been a year ago… or even a few months ago. Not a good sign. Time for change!

Deathtostock image

Teaching is something that never really crossed my mind when considering career paths. In fact I always said I never wanted to work with kids. Yet becoming a parent, somehow my entire perception of the world turned upside-down… and I like it better this way!

What appeals to me most about teaching is certainly not the wage (although I don’t think it’s as bad as everyone says). It’s the fact that I can bring my creativity into my career and I will be working with kids which is suddenly very exciting! Lots of fresh young minds, eager to learn!

And 10 weeks holidays a year is a bonus… even if that will include a bit of teaching prep work on my nights and days off. I’m okay with this!

But going right back, when I was a kid I wanted to be a writer… a children’s book author and illustrator when I was really young, but later on and into my teens, a novelist was the dream. I actually wrote 10,000 words on a manuscript once. A psychological thriller. I’m a tad biased, but it kinda rocked!

DeathtoStock

Deathtostock image

For a few fleeting moments I thought being a police officer would be cool. Not anymore. Especially not having worked in the correctional system for most of my adult life. I’ve had enough of that field.

I dabbled as an artist. At times I could sketch pretty well… but couldn’t paint to save my life and overall, it was just more stressful than I needed it to be trying to create fine art. Short lived dream!

The idea that lingered the longest was becoming a zoologist. I invisioned myself somewhere in the African plains, binocculas to my eyes, notepad by my side and pen in hand, scribbling every little observation of the big cats in the wild. I imagined lots of khaki, sweat and dirt. But most of all, just that love of animals made it seem like the dream career.

So what happened… Chemistry happened. I hate it. I was hopeless at it. In fact I failed it… only just. Because somewhere along the way I decided it was stupid and too hard and gave up. Apparently it was a pre-requisite to becoming a zoologist so I had to abandon my dream for a more realistic one.

Thus came the decision to study psychology. Yep, I switched from studying animals, to people. In a way I told myself it was the same thing, just different creatures to observe. It’s not really very similar at all.

But don’t get me wrong. I have loved my profession for the most part. I have experienced some very unique cases, seen some complex trauma and psychiatric histories and hopefully have made a little bit of difference to some lives.

But it’s time for me to follow a new path now that will lead me in another direction, at least for a little while. I am not abandoning my professional skills completely. Guidance counselling may be a great combination of both teaching and psychology down the track.

What did you want to be when you grew up? Did it happen?

12 thoughts on “When I Grow Up

  1. Wow, way to girl girl going after a new dream at this point in life! I feel most simply settle with whatever path they embarked on during their early college years. I have dabbled with the thought of going back for my masters. I am excited to hear how it goes for you!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome!
    “I can bring my creativity into my career and I will be working with kids which is suddenly very exciting! Lots of fresh young minds, eager to learn!” – YES!!! This is one of the high-on-the-list reasons I chose to homeschool. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Not too sure what to say to you, but congratulations on going back to uni! 😀 Hope it won’t be too hard for you…but I’m sure you’ll do fine. You sound so excited about it.

    Growing up, I always wanted to be a detective, tracking down the the sneakiest criminals ever. In my teens, I wanted to work in the media and be a radio presenter…I sort of did this in the community radio sector a few years ago. Then I wanted to be a researcher with a doctorate but it’s hard to get your foot in this field. Today, well, I think I want to be a writer 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks and yep, pretty excited. Even though group facilitation usually scares me. Kids are less scary. Sounds like I’m not the only one going through a few changes over the years. It’s nice not to accept one option forever.

      Like

      • Kids will be kids…I’m sure you’ll get a lot of surprises when you get to facilitate a class. And a lot of fun too. I’ve always thought I’d stick to one option. If were given the chance to be a detective, a media person or a researcher, I actually won’t hesitate to go back. I have thought about teaching….we’ll see.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Holly, I actually taught 1st and 2nd grade for 6 years before I became a stay at home mom. It is a very rewarding and time consuming profession. I would teach again but I don’t want to go back to school for 2 years to reinstate my teaching license. Good luck and you are pursuing a very important profession for the future of our children.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much. I think a lot of people forget how important teachers are in our children’s lives. Sounds like you’ve got it pretty good right now yourself though 🙂 I’m currently a part time SAHM.

      Like

  5. Oh, I still am not sure what I want to be when I grow up. But my mother was similarly influenced by being a mom–she did her MA after I , the youngest, started kindergarten. She became a parent educator and marriage and family counselor. I think it makes a lot of sense to make a change after having kids, because this experience changes us so much! Good for you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

