{Recipe} Homemade Sausage Rolls 3 Ways

DSC_0211

With a toddler in the household who is suddenly quite fussy, it can be challenging trying to get her eating lots of veggies some days. As a baby she was pretty easy to please and would eat even the most unexpected foods. I do miss that a little bit as these days I seem to clean more food off the floor than what goes into her stomach. Gotta love the toddler years 😉

So with an attempt to mix it up a little, I thought I would try something a little bit fun but filled with sneaky veggies to hopefully entice her. When out grocery shopping on the weekend I said to hubby that we should make some vegetarian sausage rolls. He wasn’t too keen so was quick to add a pack of beef mince to the shopping trolley. Still… I can please everyone!

As a result I made 3 different types of sausage rolls out of the same mixture. Oh yes, it’s totally possible! Just a matter of adding certain things in later.

MY HOMEMADE SAUSAGE ROLLS 3 WAYS

Ingredients

500g lean beef mince

1 Cup cooked white rice

1/2 cup steamed peas

1/2 cup corn kernels

1 Medium carrot, grated

1 medium onion, diced

1 Tlbsp mixed herbs

2 Tlbsp pine nuts

1 Tin crushed tomatoes

2 Eggs, plus extra egg whisked for pastry glaze

3 Weetbix, crushed (or cornflakes)

5 Sheets puff pastry, cut in half

Sesame seeds

Salt & pepper to taste

Chilli flakes

Instructions

Vegetarian Sausage Rolls

1.  Pre-heat oven to 200 degrees Celsius.

2. Line trays with baking paper.

3. Mix all ingredients except mince, chilli and puff pastry in a large bowl & combine well.

DSC_0205

4.  Lay pastry sheets on bench and cut each in half.

5. Spoon mix along one side of each pastry half in the form of a log.

DSC_0207

6. Use pastry brush to coat opposite edge of pastry with egg mixture and roll up to create sausage roll.

7. Cut into desired sizes

DSC_0208

 

To make mince sausage rolls, follow the exact same steps as above however at step 3 also add in your mince. You can also use other types of meat, such as shredded beef, pork or chicken, or chicken or pork mince as examples. You can also omit or substitute any of the above vegetables to suit your preferences.

For chilli/spicy sausage rolls, follow the steps above with or without the mince.

When you reach step 5, after you have created your filling logs along the pastry, sprinkle chilli flakes across the filling. You can add as much or as little as you like. You may even like to drizzle with sweet chilli sauce instead for a bit of added flavour and kick. Follow the rest of the steps as above.

DSC_0213

There you have it, my home made style sausage rolls done 3 ways… in one mix. When making my batch, my first sausage roll was vegetarian with my toddler in mind. The majority of them were made with the mince added in. And then a couple had the extra chilli kick for my husband.

I love that I can adapt one recipe to suit every member of my family without creating a whole new mix or recipe each time. Quick, easy and a family favourite!

Do you have any other ingredients you like to add in to home made sausage rolls? I love to hear new ideas.

Don’t forget to follow me on Pinterest for lots of recipe inspiration from online.

 

6 thoughts on “{Recipe} Homemade Sausage Rolls 3 Ways

  1. Sausage rolls…mmm, yummeh! I actually like the sausage rolls served at Gloria Jeans. They are salty and I bet processed, but perhaps a couples of times of the year I’ll cave in 🙂 Your sausages rolls look well done, so well done. How did the pastry turn out? Flaky? Crunchy?

    Like

  2. Mmm yummo! I love how versatile these are. I’ve never thought to make vegetarian sausage rolls, but given I’m not the hugest meat eater, I will certainly be trying these ones. Thank you so much for linking up with our Fabulous Foodie Fridays party! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

