How To Organise Your Entire Life In Documents

 DSCF3768

For as long as I can remember I have been addicted to digital organising.

I am a little bit of a perfectionist at times, so while my physical world may be in shambles occasionally, my PC is pretty well organised. I have folders for everything and sub folders to make things even clearer. Everything from photographs, business documents, DIY and study/work materials all have their homes.

For every major event in my life I also create a spread sheet to track and plan everything. This started with my wedding many years ago and has resulted in mostly everything since also having a spread sheet of its own.

If I’m planning an event, I have a guest list, to do list, gift registry, shopping list, expenditures and other useful information all there in one place, tab by tab in Microsoft Excel. Right now I’m working on a university placement tracker, recording the contact I’ve made with various schools. I am also planning a spread sheet for my best friend’s baby shower I’m organising. Yep… I am addicted!

DeathtoStock_Wired7

Tracking income for my small business is done entirely via an Excel Spread sheet. Invoice details, expenditures, profit, advertising, pre-orders. One stop place for everything.

The greatest benefit for business and finance related spread sheets is the ability to create formulas to calculate totals for costs or stock automatically. You can even have all this data transferring to one main page, giving you a snap shot of all you need to know in one place.

My professional workplace is managed much the same. I have just created a super dooper staff planner, complete with drop down boxes everywhere and a full year of leave, training, and program scheduling to ensure an organised and productive workplace.

The best thing is you don’t even have to be a computer genius to take advantage of spread sheet organising. Basic computer skills are all that’s needed to create basic documents. Of course advanced skills are an advantage, but I can guarantee you will learn quickly and soon surprise yourself with what you can do!

To make your life easier though, I am in the process of creating a whole lot of excel spread sheet templates for various functions that will be available in my Etsy shop soon… for cheap. This means all you really need to do is personalise to suit your needs or simply input your data and away you go.

Stay tuned as they will be ready soon and are guaranteed to help you plan your wedding, party, event, blog & home expenses.

Do you use spread sheets to make your life easier?

6 thoughts on “How To Organise Your Entire Life In Documents

  1. I have tried organising and keeping track of my finances with spreadsheets a few months ago. It didn’t go very well, and most likely because I struggled to come up with a neat workable template. It would be nice to keep track of how much I’m spending on food, bills, groceries…so I’m interested to see the spreadsheets you’ll be putting up in your Etsy store.

    I do use spreadsheets at work to input data and sort them out so my colleagues can make sense of it. Some of the spreadsheets have macros and complicated formulas that I don’t dare touch.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Blog Spreadsheet Now Available at Etsy | Simplify.Create.Inspire

Leave a Reply

