{DIY} Whiteboard Calendar & Planner

DIYWHITEBOARD

When life gets extra busy, sometimes the best solution is a really BIG reminder!

With university kicking off for me once more next week, after 8 years of being uni-free, I know getting organised is a must. Like not just a little bit organised like I may have been back in my teens as a first time uni student, as I was a pretty lazy student, but as in really organised. To the second almost at times, since I will now be juggling part time work and motherhood alongside my studies.

I decided I needed a really huge calendar that is re-useable and on my wall. With that in mind, this quick half hour project was born. Sure you can buy pre-printed whiteboard calendars, but about 3-5 times the price. I don’t want to spend $80+ for something I can create.

DSC_0480

All you need is:

  • Whiteboard – as big as you want, to suit your needs
  • Whiteboard markers
  • Permanent marker
  • Ruler

With my uni semesters being approximately 4 months each, I wanted something relatively big although decided the size I got would suit 3 decent sized monthly sections. That’s okay as I can erase and re-write every 3 months to fit the next phase in. That’s the beauty of a whiteboard.

DSC_0481

Start with wipe off whiteboard marker

Decide on how you want to lay out your calendar. I would suggest marking up in whiteboard marker initially, to make sure you are happy with your design. Use a ruler to measure out your lines and sections.

DSC_0484

Rule up where you want your lines

Once you are happy with your design, draw up your lines in a permanent marker. Be mindful that drawing directly over existing whiteboard marker will stop your lines from being permanent. Whiteboard marker erases permanent marker. Good tip to know if you make a mistake. So after you’ve done your initial design, maybe just use dots to mark everything up.

Once your permanent lines are up, use a whiteboard eraser or a cloth to wipe off any existing whiteboard marker.

DSC_0485

Permanent marker

Everything else you can do in whiteboard marker so you can erase and change the dates, months and entries to suit your needs.

Initially I had a 7 day calendar drawn up but decided I really only needed 5 day weeks since uni assessments are never due on weekends. Instead I created a dates to remember section down the side of each month where the other 2 days would be. Up to you what works best for your needs.

DSC_0488

Then just add in your important dates

And there you have it… a massive calendar organiser you can use all year round and year after year!

wallplanner

All set up on the wall of my messy office

I am slowly on my way towards an organised and simplifiedย life.

10 thoughts on “{DIY} Whiteboard Calendar & Planner

  1. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this website yourself or did
    you hire someone to do it for you? Plz answer back as I’m looking to
    design my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from.

    appreciate it

    Like

Leave a Reply

