{Tasty Tuesday} A Classic Omelette Recipe

omlette

Omelettes have always been my go to comfort food. No matter if I’m sick, having a bad day or just suffering the cold weather, an omelette is the perfect simple meal to fill my belly.

A recently discovery is that my toddler is also a big fan of my omelettes also. As in usually I end up having to make another just to satisfy her appetite. Bonus!

Most people seem to enjoy their omelette on toast. You could do that, however this recipe is for a massive omelette that is pretty muchย a meal on its own, no toast needed.

Classic Omelette Recipe

Ingredients

  • 3-4 eggs
  • 1/4 cup of plain all purpose flour
  • Salt, pepper, mixed herbs to season
  • Grated cheese
  • Fillings of your choice
  • Butter

DSC_0516

Method

  1. Heat a frying pan on the stove with about a teaspoon or so of butter to grease.
  2. Whisk eggs in a bowl until fluffy. Mix in flour gradually.
  3. Mix in approximately 1/4 cup of grated cheese and seasoning to taste.
  4. Pour mixture into heated frying pan and allow to cook.
  5. Flip omelette once bottom side is golden (this can be tricky… sometimes I use 2 egg flips).
  6. Cook until other side is also golden brown
  7. Serve with more grated cheese and fillings of your choice.

omelette

My preferred filling is simple ham or bacon with cheese, however tomato, olives, capsicum, salami are some of the many options you may include.

There you have it.. a super simple meal full of egg-y goodness and appealing for young and old alike, for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Best part is it takes only about 10 minutes to make too.

 

 

10 thoughts on “{Tasty Tuesday} A Classic Omelette Recipe

  1. I love omelettes too! I like to put chicken in them, not usually ham as most hams taste very salty to me. Love how you omelette turned out very yellow. I don’t whisk my eggs too well – bad technique and lack of muscles – and my omelette turns out patches of white and yellow ๐Ÿ™‚ But still yummy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

