{Tasty Tuesday} Chicken Italiano Filo Pastry Pie

pie3

I am neither Italian or have a clue what I am doing with filo pastry. This is my first time cooking with filo pastry in fact. Although I have been to Italy at least…

Grocery shopping the other day resulted in a lot of chicken. Bulk chicken breasts in fact as they were half price. $8.99 AU for 1.4KG. WHAT??? So I got 2.8kg worth. That’s a fair bit of chicken so I wanted to experiment with some new recipes. Usually that meant heading to Pinterest for some inspiration and yes that did happen. I had planned to make chicken filos… just plain and simple. But I had no feta so it wouldn’t be quite the same.

Somehow I ended up making a pie without any recipe for guidance. A brave move as I have also never made a pie.

But it was pretty darn tasty, even if I do say so myself. Here is how you can re-create my experiment gone right!

Ingredients

  • 2 chicken breasts or 500g diced chicken
  • 3-4 rashers of bacon, diced
  • Spinach – I actually cheated and used frozen spinach, 2 cubes worth but a handful of chopped leaves would be nicer
  • 2-3 tablespoons of pine nuts
  • Mixed herbs, salt & pepper to season
  • 1/4 cup of grated cheese
  • Filo pastry
  • 1/4 onion
  • Tin of diced tomatoes
  • 1-2 cloves of crushed garlic
  • 2 tablespoons of tomato paste
  • Melted butter to coat top of pie
  • Oil for frying pan
pie2

Filo pastry is so thin and fabric-like – easy to work with

Method

  1. Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Pre-heat frying pan with oil.
  2. Dice up chicken, bacon & onion and cook in frying pan
  3. Once browned or sealed, add in spinach, pine nuts, seasoning, garlic, tomato paste and tinned tomatoes.
  4. Simmer for approximately 10 minutes.
  5. Grease pie dish (I used a slice pan) and create pie base with several layers of filo pastry.
  6. Add pie mixture to dish. Using several more layers, create pie crust.
  7. Coat pie with melted button and place in oven until filo pastry becomes crispy and golden.
pie1

Simmer your ingredients on the stove

There you have it. A spur of the moment pie recipe perfect for the cold winter nights. The filo pastry is also a healthier alternative to puff pastry typically used for pies.

Don’t forget to follow me on Pinterest if you want more recipe inspiration from my 3 recipe boards, including my own marvellous creations!

pie4

Enjoy!

7 thoughts on “{Tasty Tuesday} Chicken Italiano Filo Pastry Pie

  1. Looks great! I am just about to start chicken pies for tonight’s dinner and I’m now wishing I had filo instead of puff pastry.

    Like

  2. Yum this pie sounds great. I really like using filo instead of puff pastry for pies, it makes them so flaky and delicious!

    Like

Leave a Reply

